DESIRE is organised around 8 workpackages. The workpackage co-ordinators include R. Guerrini, G. Avanzini, M. Mantegazza, R. Spreafico, I. Blümcke, A. Represa, F. Benfenati, J. Chelly, H. Cross and C. Barba.

graphical representation of components

The workpackages include:

  • WP1: Identifying genetic causes and pathophysiological mechanisms of epileptogenic brain malformations
  • WP2: Identifying genetic causes and pathophysiological mechanisms of epileptic encephalopathies
  • WP3: Validating High Frequency Oscillations (HFOs) as a biomarker of the seizure onset zone
  • WP4: Improving Diagnostic Tools and Protocols in Cortical Dysplasia
  • WP5: Improving epilepsy treatment in children with Focal Cortical Dysplasias (FCD) Type II as classified by the International League Againest Epilepsy (ILAE)
  • WP6: Innovative strategies for treatment and prevention of Epileptogenic Developmental Disorders (EDD) related epilepsy and of its consequences
  • WP7: Dissemination and Exploitation
  • WP8: Management
  • Ethical Issues
  • Data Safety Monitoring Board
  • Scientific Advisory Committee
    (Jeffrey L. Noebels, Solomon L. Moshe and Emilio Merlo Pich)